Home > Uncategorized > Stand-off in Tahrir Square

Stand-off in Tahrir Square

After some serious self-reflection and debate I’ve decided to stay on tomorrow and move my flight out of the country back a bit.  I’m feeling a responsibility to continue following this, particularly as it gets harder and harder for the professionals to do, and I’ve found an opportunity to help gather food, water and medical supplies for the injured should following the story prove impossible.  This isn’t my country, but the people here have treated me like I belonged here for months; I feel an obligation to do my best to stick it out and help people where and when they need it.  It’s simply hard to turn away from people who are putting their lives on the line for something they believe in.

From what I can tell, Tahrir Square is largely quiet right now.  It appears that there is some sort of stand-off going on between pro and anti-Mubarak forces, but it has taken a calmer tone than that which we all witnessed last night. I’ve turned off the tv at long last, so I may not have the latest, but I’m hoping the increased troop presence will help things through the night.

Christiane Armanpour has recently sat down with Egyptian President Hosni Mubarak and states that he has said he wants out but is afraid for Egypt if he goes: http://abcnews.go.com/International/egypt-abc-news-christiane-amanpour-exclusive-interview-president/story?id=12833673.

I’m going to do what I can to get back towards Tahrir tomorrow and actually talk to people around the city to get a better feel for what they want and what they are feeling.  From what I can tell from here, the numbers of those who are merely begging for peace and protection are growing rapidly.

The consensus seems to be that we should anticipate much larger protests and demonstrations tomorrow as it is the start of the weekend.  Also, as it is Friday and attending mosque will allow people, just like last week, to form into large groups without attracting undue attention, there is probably some merit to this anticipation.

I’ve got to admit ignorance once again; a complete grasp of this situation alludes me at the moment.  I’m hoping to put it all together, piece-by-piece from notes and pictures when this is all over, but for now I can’t help by think, “Where is the Army?”

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Elizabeth Hofstedt
    February 4, 2011 at 2:14 am

    We love you. Xuchi

  2. Adam Parsell
    February 4, 2011 at 3:44 am

    Be smart and stay safe brother. You are in our thoughts in prayers.

    -AP & AM

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

