Home > Uncategorized > Tom is alright in Cairo

Tom is alright in Cairo

This is Nellie again. I just received an e-mail from a news agency in Cairo, saying that “tom is alright in cairo”. That was all it said, but with social networking sites, text messaging, the internet and now most phone service down in Egypt, it was a huge relief to get this e-mail. Great to know he is safe.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 28, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    Hi Nellie, I’m not sure if we’ve ever met, but Tom and I were in Jeff Society together at UVa. If you can get word to him, there are some services which are offering dialup connections for people in Egypt. I would work simply enough, unless the Government over there has completely shut down landlines as well.

    “@telecomix: We are now providing dialup modem service at +46850009990. user/pass: telecomix/telecomix (only for # Egypt , respect that please!).”

    I know it’s a pretty rudimentary suggestion, but it would be a way he could get in touch with you and his family.

    Cheers

  2. January 28, 2011 at 10:05 pm

    Thank you for the suggestion, anything is helpful! I haven’t been able to get in touch with him, as his phone isn’t working, along with his e-mail or anything on the internet. From watching the news, I think landlines are still working at least somewhat, so I will keep trying and if I get in touch with him I’ll pass that along!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

