Home > Iraq > Hold the Phone, Progress in Iraqi Deadlock?

Hold the Phone, Progress in Iraqi Deadlock?

Big news yesterday.  Looks as though the political deadlock in Iraq that I was writing about when I first got here a month ago might not be so much of a deadlock anymore.  In a move that I think has taken most by surprise, it appears that the NAI (check my earlier post for a quick summary about their relevance) may be moving to back incumbent Prime Minister Nuri al-Maliki for another term.  If you’ll recall, al-Maliki and one of the NAI‘s most predominant leaders, Muqtada al-Sadr squared of militarily against each other in 2008.  With U.S. aid al-Maliki and the Iraqi government defeated Sadr’s Mahdi Army in that conflict, effectively saving al-Maliki’s term.  With Sadr’s support now, al-Maliki would be well on the way to forming a new Iraqi government.

Potential implications could include a Shiite dominated Iraq which would become much closer with Iran than most in the U.S. would be comfortable with.  But don’t take it from me, read it from much better informed people:

http://www.juancole.com/2010/10/iran-wins-iraqi-elections-7-months-later.html

and

http://edition.cnn.com/2010/WORLD/meast/10/01/iraq.politics/index.html

The 0nly thing I’d add though is that I’m not entirely sure this is 100% yet.  Despite the two articles above I tend to take everything coming out about Iraq with a grain of salt, and the fact that some other news sources, such as the BBC for example, aren’t carrying this story yet makes me wonder.

– T

Categories: Iraq
  1. Richard Wolf
    October 8, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    Tom:

    I ran into your old man last night at a Visitation function. (We were in attendance because beer was being served.) He told me about your blog. I trust that you are having an amazing experience. Hope all is well and I look forward to reading more about your experience. Take care.

    Best regards, Richard “Mega” Wolf

    • October 14, 2010 at 3:34 pm

      You the man, Mega. Good to hear from you. Also, pretty sorry to hear you’re hanging at visitation functions these days but I’ve done worse for free beer, so I can’t really judge…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

