Home > Cairo > Drugs… Betcha Didn’t See That Coming

Drugs… Betcha Didn’t See That Coming

What’s up all?  Hope everyone’s doing well!  Today I want to talk about the prevalence of drug usage here, something which probably comes as a bit of a surprise to you all at home and definitely blew me away once I got here.  There shouldn’t be much of a drug problem in a country that barely even allows drinking, right?  Wrong.  The amount of hard drugs to be found here in Cairo, and the extent of their usage, will blow your mind.

As far as I can tell, just about everyone my age here smokes weed and hash.  Now that’s not really worth writing about in and of itself.  Both weed and hash are prevalent all over the world and are only becoming more prevalent as time goes by.  What is worth writing about, however, is the  extent to which hard drugs have taken hold of a large number of Egyptian youth.  I’m not talking about coke, which wouldn’t really surprise me so much since it seems to be popular in wealthy circles of young people everywhere I’ve ever traveled.  I’m not even talking about crack cocaine, as serious of a drug as that is.  I’m talking about heroin, probably the most addictive and dangerous drug out there.

There’s not too much of a point in me talking much more about this, since anyone who knows me knows that this isn’t something I’m an expert on.  That said, let me point you to some people who are:

Read this: http://english.aljazeera.net/focus/2009/10/200910203538491522.html

and this: http://www.egyptreality.blogspot.com/2006/10/one-more-victim.html

The first is a report from October of last year by Aljazeera, talking about the heroin and general drug problem here in Egypt.  The second, although outdated, is a personal account of the process by which heroin is bought and sold in the country, as well as speculation as to why it is still so prevalent.  I can’t say that everything she writes is correct, as she does a good bit of speculation about the police and government, but the second and third paragraphs of this personal account of the prevalence of heroin its acquisition process coincide with other things that I’ve heard and read.  Furthermore, they give the issue a very real human face.  Her speculations, despite being just that, are also pretty interesting…

In case you decide you want to peruse this girl’s other posts about heroin, I should say upfront that they are both extremely intense and extremely depressing.  Take that for what it’s worth.

– T

Categories: Cairo
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

